carruthers says…

Just another WordPress.com site

Dead Man Jogging

with 14 comments

Yesterday morning my dilemma was one I usually face only on weekends: Do I make the 20-yard dash to get the paper from the driveway in my boxers or do I take my time, throw on some real clothes, and saunter out to pick up the daily news in attire that won’t get me on some list that my neighbors will find on the Internet?

Today’s dilemma is a bit different. Do I call a lawyer or let the royal screwing I got yesterday fade away like another bad memory?

Twenty five years and $61.94 later, I’m officially no longer the editor of Cycle News, America’s Weekly Motorcycle Newspaper. I’m not going to sit here and go into the gory details of the bloodshed, but let’s just say I left without “feeling the love.” Visualize the scene in Jerry Maguire… I placed my finger over my lips to quiet them and said, “You had me at F-off.”

Should I really have expected any different?

But life goes on and I start that new life today, with the burden of finding things like health insurance for the family, rolling-over the 401k, going through the boxes that contain 25 years of memories from a place I now can’t erase from my memory quick enough.

The support I’ve received from my friends, those in the motorcycle industry – and the crossover between the two as most in the industry I’m quickly finding out are my friends – has been incredible. Just do me one favor, when you see me at the grocery store unshaven in a white T-shirt, plaid shorts and flip-flops, don’t tell me “When one door closes, another one opens.” Yesterday the door hit me so hard in the ass, I’m writing this while standing up.

This weekend is a big one in motorcycling with the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix going on without me. I almost jumped on a plane and headed that way after all of this went down yesterday. But spending the weekend talking about getting the axe didn’t sound like a lot of fun. It’s also a big weekend here. My son “officially” starts his college life tomorrow and the school is welcoming the families for a weekend of seminars and other activities. I will be there instead.

But next week I’ll be back in the mix and will get my working life back in order. Which hopefully means I’ll be working again on something more meaningful than a blog page. Something that gets me out of these damn boxer shorts.

Thanks for your support, people. Will keep you all posted.

Written by paulcarruthers1

August 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very well put Mr. Writer! Your fans will love your candor! Cycle News Huge Loss…..what the *** are they thinking?!* *****HOLES for treating you sooo bad!
    On to Bigger and Better things!
    Luv Ya xoxo

    Christie Manry

    August 27, 2010 at 4:37 pm

  2. The last of the Weekly’s… not suprised, what now Sharon? Call me sometime, I have a great idea!! All the best, Gavin 949-337-5307 Motorcycle Weekly!!

    Gavin Trippe

    August 27, 2010 at 5:02 pm

  3. $61.94? damn they took good care of you.
    be in touch maestro. we’ll start planning the toilet paper and egg attack on CN HQ.

    dave sonsky

    August 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  4. Now you face the biggest dilemma of all – which I realized this weekend- what the heck do I wear to the racetrack, the wardrobe’s been decimated.
    Looks like golf is soon in our future.
    And please, no comments about boxers- it reminds me of the guy that runs a website from his parents basement…while in his boxers.

    Larry Little

    August 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  5. Pauly,

    Say it ain’t so! Welcome to the underworld.
    Wanna go riding during the week? I know a million good roads.
    All the best,

    Joe B.
    760-242-3490 Anytime

    Joe Bonnello

    August 27, 2010 at 5:14 pm

  6. I can already hear the bubbles burbling up. CN is going down! Just be glad you don’t need a life vest from them anymore. You’re an excellent swimmer! The fatties in the east wing will NOT survive from this. Ha! That’s what they get for being such horrible excuses for human beings! Haha! Jerks…

    Kat C.

    August 27, 2010 at 6:11 pm

  7. Paul,

    For me, such an experience was akin from breaking up with the love of my life–or a divorce, which I have seen many go through. Your comments about the people in this industry are well noted–it is the most incredible group of people in the world. They are supportive, caring, kind and giving–no doubt we all share a very special bond.

    Take your time. The hurt and frustration will eventually pass, but like breaking up from that relationship, healing takes time. I think I can speak for all when I say everyone of your friends is here to help and support in anyway we can. Reach out for sure if you need to.

    There are some incredibly talented people who need a place to put their skills to use. Anyone here have any ideas?

    MH

    Mark Homchick

    August 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  8. Paul, sorry to hear, yet another nice, fair, open minded guy get a screwing. Move on, dont look back until you can look back and laugh at whats behind you

    Joe Fenech

    August 27, 2010 at 10:03 pm

  9. Paul,

    Sorry to see this happens. Thanks for your excellent work the last 25 years. The minute I got CW I dropped everything and read it all in one shot. Now the reading will have a somewhat sour taste indeed. Best of luck in the future.

    Philippe Danh

    August 27, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  10. Paul,
    I am so excited for you. Your work over that last few decades has been one of the highlights of my cycle reading. I look forward to your new adventures and look forward to seeing you on the circuit. Come on down to Barber’s in October and stop by the Vincent tent. We’ll have a good laugh about bosses and getting canned.
    Warmest future
    John

    John Romano

    August 27, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  11. Paul,

    I am very sorry to hear this. Your story mirrors mine, last year. My gig ended just as abruptly after 16 years, so I know just how this tastes… And don’t tell me about doors opening and closing…

    Anyway, good luck!

    Ben

    Ben Lamboeuf

    August 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  12. Paul,

    I am sorry to read about your trials and tribulations with Cycle News. I feel for you brother. I suffered a similar fate last November 7, after eleven years of loyal service, working for friends who had begged me to come to work for them at their franchised motorcycle dealership. No retirement, no 401(k), no severance package…… You, among millions who have suffered our fate, are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Al Roof

    Al Roof

    August 28, 2010 at 2:10 pm

  13. Paul,
    You will be so missed from Cycle News.The respect of your co-workers at Cycle News was unparalleled. You WERE Cycle News. In my year and a half, I never heard a single word said about you that wasn’t that you always listened, had their back, did an amazing job, great guy, etc..
    You always had time to listen to me, and sincerely cared. You, as compared to some others, actually felt like this magazine stood for something, and it did. You will be so missed.
    Funny, because I was making a tribute card to you, the day I was laid off-two days prior. They knew it was my husbands birthday in 4 days, nice to go home with you’ve been laid off news-huh?
    All the best to you and your family. With your skills and reputation in the industry, I’m sure you’ll land on your feet, shame it had to happen right as your kid is going to college, sorry man.
    Hugs,

    Christy Salmans

    Christy Salmans

    August 29, 2010 at 9:19 pm

  14. Paul,

    So sorry to hear… but you’ll find out it might be best thing to happen to you. When I got laid off from Ehlert Publishing Group, along with five other people in a re-org, it was the best thing to ever happen to me. The reason you were so good and so well respected is because you are bigger than Cycle News and you needed to be unleashed to find that out. I started my own business, my online magazines, when I got let go. I’ve never looked back. There is plenty of opportunity out there. Talented people like yourself either create their own companies, or get snatched up quickly. What’s so great about your position now is that you have a choice.

    Start drawing unemployment — you might was well take advantage of it since you’ve been paying into it all these years — and contemplate your future. Can’t wait to see where you land. Call if I can be of any assistance. Trust me, vindication will come. It always does.

    Genevieve Schmitt

    Genevieve Schmitt

    September 2, 2010 at 4:02 am


Leave a Reply

